Double Department Store: Devo

 

A month or so ago I got a very last minute call from a friend of mine who works at The Department Store wondering if I was available to shoot an editorial for their upcoming zine. Thankfully I was available so my traditional CBD to Ponsonby power rush ensued, what else “ensued” was me standing on a ladder shooting a throng of super babes wearing the greatest/most hilarious hats ever standing beneath a skylite at Stephen Marr (who did the hair and makeup for this shoot)(also did I mention I have a fear of heights, ladders are not ok). This is one of the very rare occasions when I have been shooting someone elses makeup work and actually loved what has been presented to my lens. Creamy nude tones with a subtle ode to Grace Jones in the contouring and highlighting. This subsequently led to me being invited to The Department Store’s S/S 2012 runway show at their store in takapuna (photos in the next post, hence the double department store). Below you can see the Images that I shot for the Zine (excluding one because I forgot to export it from Lightroom last night, yeah I use Lightroom okay, so what?) and also so super special outtakes collage I made because I was bored ^____^

 

Ella @ N Model Management wearing Karen Walker

Sidenote for people who don’t get the whole “Weird red hat/devo thing”

 

Roelene @ N Model Management – an international model from australia who has since left nz. Dress bu Phillip Lim

 

Zach @ N Model Management – Shirt by Topman

 

and now for some hilarious/beautiful outtakes

Rolene wears Phillip Lim, Ella wears Karen Walker, Zach and Mickey wear Topman – all hailing from N Model Management

 

 

Also if you want to see scans of The Zine or that infamous other group shot you can do so on http://lifestylesoftherichardfamous.tumblr.com

http://www.thisisthezine.com

Leave a comment